The British Tag

I’m proud to be British and I am currently making it my goal to see more of this beautiful country this year as opposed to jetting away all the time.
A great way I plan on doing this (which I really need to get started on) is visiting all 21 Tea Rooms listed here on Buzzfeed. I mean, what a British way to go about it no? Get that tea and cake in ma belly!

In the meantime, first seen on Little Miss Katy’s Blog , I’m jumping on board with the #BritishTag aka The British Lifestyle Questionnaire.

How many cups of tea a day do you have and how many sugars do you have?

I usually have between 4 and 6 depending on whether I’m at work or at home. I didn’t actually realise until recently how addicted I was until I recieved not 1 but 2 tea strainers as Christmas presents. I’ve got to say, using loose leaf tea tastes sooo much better than normal teabags. Speaking of which I still need to try out the loose Moroccan tea I brought back from Morocco in December.
Amount of sugar depends on how tired I am. Usually between one and two teaspoons. I’m trying to wean down!

2015/01/img_4162.png

Favourite dunking biscuit?
Rich Tea or Shortbread

Favourite part of your roast?
Yorkshire Puddings. Hands down. Oh, and really juicy Gammon slices (not a Turkey or Beef fan). And stuffing. And honey glazed carrots. And crispy roast potatoes…

Favourite quintessentially British pass time?
Apart from eating roasts and drinking copious amounts of tea? Probably spending Sunday’s in the Bunny Park as a child walking round seeing the animals and getting ice creams in the cafe afterwards. That, and playing bowls in my grandparents garden. It wasn’t the smoothest of lawns so we always had to bowl in a way that was not to fast and fly over the bumps but not too slow so you could actually get over the bumps in the first place. Mad skills.

2015/01/img_4165.jpg

Favourite word?
Floccinaucinihilipilification
My Grandad used to wind me up with this word (one of the longest in the English Dictionary) – still get a bit tongue tied trying to say the last part!
And one that I tend to actually use on a day to day basis would have to be ‘Rightio’

Cockney rhyming slang?
Apple and Pears – Stairs
Ruby Murry – Curry
Dog and Bone – Phone

Not that I really use these, just know of them.

Favourite sweets?
Old school confectionery would have to be White Mice, Jazzies and Rubarb and Custard boiled sweets.

What would your pub be called?
The Ginger Puss.

Who’s your favourite British person?
Kate Middleton
Bill Nighy
Noel Edmonds (just can’t get enough of his floral shirts. Just me? Probably)

2015/01/img_4160.jpg

Favourite shop/restaurant?
Shop, probably Tesco as I use it the most.
In terms of clothes? H&M, Debenhams, New Look and Dorothy Perkins.
Resturant – Frankie & Bennys (not English but hey), Nandos, Wagamamas, Chiqitos and Hard Rock Cafe.

2015/01/img_4164.jpg

What British song pops into your head?
Probably ‘Park Life’ by Blur, ‘Wonderwall’ by Oasis or ‘Baggy Trousers’ by Madness

Marmite?
Love it! #sorrynotsorry

What are some of your British-isms? Let me know below!

Till next time!
Gem x

*pictures are not my own and are taken from Google*

One thought on “The British Tag

  1. Can’t really say I have any, since I am German and spent some time in Canada, but I had a British flat mate once.. He liked to bake stuff, like scones and caramel shortbread, I am definitely intrigued by those 😀

Leave a Reply

