The Harry Potter Studio Tour

For one of my Spoon’s birthday’s this year I decided to get her and myself tickets to the Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio Tour in Leavesden.

Neither of us had been before and being mad Harry Potter fans (her more so than me, I still need to read the books!) we were stoked to finally be going! With conflicting shift work between us, it actually took us 3 months from her birthday in March to June to actually book a date we could both do that was at a decent time (they have set time slots for the tour so you can’t just rock up on the day as there would probably be some serious over-crowding otherwise!).
I don’t think the recent Groupon offers and Half Term /Bank Holidays helped with this, but either way, we got there eventually!

Grand Hall
Grand Hall

What I wasn’t expecting was the sheer size of the place. They literally had everything Harry Potter you could think of – from entering and starting the tour through the Grand Hall, the crazy Purple Bus (as featured in the Prisoner of Azkaban), The house Harry stays in on Privet Drive. You can walk down Diagon Alley, walk along the Hogwarts Bridge, marvel over the (inedible) chocolate feast (as seen in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) and just so many cool props to gawp over I couldn’t even begin to list them all!

Privet Drive
The house where Harry lived on Privet Drive with the Dursley’s

Bridge
The Hogwarts Bridge

diagon alley
Diagon Alley

chess
Chess Pieces

There were a few interactive things to do to break up the staring at awesome things.

We took advantage of literally everything on offer (sonot26and27yearsold) and participated in some fun with green screens by pretending to ride a broom with a wind machine so that the final film looks as though you’re flying through London on a broom. Pretty cool! They also had an option to do the same but with the Blue car (featured in Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone) flying alongside the Hogwarts Train! This would be a better option if you went as a group and would also save money on the pricey photo/dvd purchases afterwards! We also took part in the wand practice, learning some of the moves they do against enemies in the films (super cheesy, but whatever!)

Wand Practice
Wand practice 

brrom flying
Photo of me flying on a broom over Hogwarts!

A new addition to the tour was Platform 9 and 3 quarters with the Hogwarts Express docked in the station – which you can actually board and take a peek into the carriages! SO cool.

Hogwarts Express10364124_10153009561521523_7750195844981875842_n

You can also pretend to be off to Hogwarts with a green screen and projectors showing the country side moving past, along with some scary things! It was super cheesy but awesome and had to get some photos!

Off to Hogwarts

Too much excitement made us peckish so stopped for a Butterbeer! – An acquired taste as it is very sweet!

Butterbeer

After a good 3 hours, we completed the tour and had a nosey round the extensive gift shop. They had some pretty cool gifts in there, t-shirts, scarves, hoodies, glasses, wands, Monopoly Harry Potter, puzzles, unique pieces of jewellery and sweets – you name it, it’s in there! I just stuck with my photo of me flying a broom and the Souvenir Guide Book i purchased with the ticket.

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and as soon as it was done I wanted to go round and do it again! It’s safe to say I’ll definitely be returning in the future!
Till next time!
Gem x

6 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Studio Tour

  1. I love this tour!! I may or may not have gone 3 times already….ahem. I haven’t seen the train yet though which looks amazing!! I’m glad you had such a lovely time sweet, and great photos! 🙂 xx

  2. What an awesomely kind gift to give!! I am finnnaaalllly getting to visit in December of this year for my Mams birthday – I wish I could of gone so much sooner but I live at the opposite end of the country.
    This has made me even more excited!

    xo

  3. I still haven’t been on this tour, my best friend and I have been planning to go for about two years now which is shocking.. never the riht time… and now it’s summer holidays. Looks like an awesome day! So glad you enjoyed yourself and I love the picture on the broomstick 🙂 X

  4. Pingback: Yays and Nays #8 | a million gingerisms

Leave a Reply

