Didn’t I tell you? 

I love planes. 

Even as a child we used to spend Sunday’s driving round and round Heathrow airport catching planes landing and taking off with the sunroof open praying that one would fly right overhead at just that precise moment! 

But I’m not here just to talk about the regular run of the mill 747s that I use regularly to get from A-B. 

I’m talking military aircraft. The proper awesome type of planes. 

I think it all stems from playing with toy military planes at my Grandparents house as a child. That, and growing up around RAF Northolt. I still get all excited even now when a military aircraft of some sort flys overhead. Which happens quite frequently. Seriously, I’m like a child. 

So I was obviously a tad excited to hear that there were tickets for an RAF Northolt Centenary Open Day on Saturday 13th June where they would be showcasing aircraft and veichles used in WW1 and WW2.  

Ok, so the day comes and the weather is pretty poop. Annoying seeing as it had been beaming with sunshine for the entire week before, but whatevs. This led to some aircraft displays not being able to proceed, including the Red Arrows. Big bummer. But that didn’t stop us spending 4 hours there looking at all the planes and veichles and also, towards the end of the day, some aircraft were allowed to fly and put on displays, including my favourite, the Spitfire, much to my excitement! 

I went home feeling, well, pretty cold but mostly friggin happy! I forgot just how much I actually love aircraft!  Hell, when it came to choosing a career, I was debating between Nurse and Air Hostess. I think I made the right choice. Until I went to Uni and realised that they had actually had piloting course there. Damnit! Still, I suppose Nursing is more rewarding and all the rest of it..! Plan B right there. 


My baby… the Spitfire


    
Sally B (B-17)



    
Tiger Moths


Same time next year?
Most definitely!

Till next time!
Gem x

3 thoughts on “Didn’t I tell you? 

  1. What IS with this weather at the moment? I can’t keep up from one day to the next!

    What a fab day out that looks – I’m no plane aficionado but I’d love to see some of the air displays of the classics! x

    Laura | Loved By Laura

  2. Wow sounds like a wonderful day out! I don’t know much about planes but my grandfather, uncle and boyfriend all work with planes to some degree or another, a lot of engineering and my grandad was a WW2 pilot. So there’s always a lot of plane stories at family gatherings! Xx

  3. Pingback: Yays and Nays #8 | a million gingerisms

Leave a Reply

