A Happy Blogging Birthday!

2012_05_08_999_95.neopolitan-cake-1

Source

Wow. I’ve actually kept a blog going for a year for once! Look at that!

And what a ride it’s been!

Blogging sure isn’t what it used to be when I started back on Livejournal at the innocent age of 15. I never thought that starting up another blog this time last year would introduce me to the HUGE and wonderful blogging community there is now! Seeing blog comments, Twitter faves and Facebook likes really make my day and just makes me want to blog more and more! Reading hundreds of blogs daily through WordPress, Twitter, Instagram and Bloglovin’ gives me real inspiration to not only post more but to actually GET OUT THERE more and experience things through beautiful pictures and recommendations people have posted.

I know my blog isn’t huge and there are bloggers out there who are way bigger after a year of it than I am at now (seriously, I’m only at 2,000 page views after a year) and yes you could say I am slightly envious of these bloggers, but for me, really deep down, blogging isn’t about the numbers. As I stated in my blog intro here, this blog is a hobby for me and I don’t want numbers and statistics to stand too much otherwise I will lose heart and interest in why i started this blog up in the first place. The followers I have now have all been lovely and supportive and if I continue to get more then great 🙂

I think the reason I don’t post as much as I would like to, is that stupid old self-doubt gets in the way. Worrying about how I’m sounding and coming across, about my content not being relatable and generally not as good as other peoples posts on current topics, which then deters me from posting about them too. I know it’s natural to compare yourself to others, but it needs to stop if I want to blog more often and enjoy it even more. That, and even though shift work is a killer, I need to find a way for this not to be an excuse for not blogging. One good way I plan on overcoming this is to try and make the most of my hour long tube commute to get blog-storming (my cool word for blog brainstorming).

I am looking to take my blog to the next level this year. I’m not promising anything too drastic mind. I just want to start posting more frequently and consistently, improve my web tech skills, maybe become self hosted (once the thought of it stops terrifying me), get a decent layout (any blog designers holler at me!) and just get even more involved in the blogging community. I particularly want to thank Jasmine Charlotte for her helpful techy how-to posts which have taught me a lot already!

Anyway, I feel like I’m rambling now. I just wanted to say THANKYOU again to my fellow readers and followers (on WordPress, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook *phew!*) for reading this little blog of mine.

Here’s to another year!

Till next time!
Gem x

One thought on “A Happy Blogging Birthday!

Leave a Reply

