Yays and Nays #10

Ok, so I’ve been busy, which is why I’m doing my August Yays and Nays on the 9th September. I was going to leave it and do it at the end of September and do a 2-in-1 post but I can see just how long that would take me to write up and didn’t want to miss out the little things going on. Anyway, lets crack on!

Yays

Holiday to Malta
I went back to Malta (& Gozo) after 6 years and fell in love with it all over again. You can read more about my trip to Malta in my next post (I originally wrote about it all in this post, but was pretty lengthy so have given it its own post) so that post will be coming up in the next couple of days.

image

image

image

image

image

Camden Beach
After not seeing the guys (close friends) for a while due to conflicting schedules etc, we managed to finally find a Sunday we could all do and decided to make the most of our short British summer by trying out the Rooftop Beach Bar at The Roundhouse in Camden. The weather was absolutely fantastic, as well as the company, and I finally got to introduce J to the group. Safe to say it went pretty well (no question really, knew they’d love him) and after a great day we all headed for a much needed cheeky Nandos. Nom Nom.

My Hawaiian Birthday Party
For my birthday this year (still hasn’t quite sunk in that I’m actually 20bloody7) I decided to keep things simple and host a Hawaiian themed party at my house. Well, it sounded simple at the time, however when it came down to planning and executing it all, didn’t end up so cheap and simple, after factoring in Hawaiian props and decorations, doing a BBQ and sorting party food and drinks including spirits and juices for ‘summery’ cocktails. After stressing half the night making sure the food was OK, that people had drinks, and speaker issues sorted out, I could finally chill and ended up having a great night with awesome people. Joe, Daryl and Charlie in particular were such a great help with food and general running of things and trying to chill me out in the process. Love you guys.
Definitely forgot how stressful it is hosting your own party, well, it is if you’re a big worrier like me! Think I’ll stick to going out next year instead.

Spending time with J
This part is probably going to come across as cheesy, but its my blog, so ner.
Spending time and getting to know J more and more has just been all sorts of amazing. It all feels so natural, he’s just got me as a person from the get go and loves me exactly as I am (and vice versa of course). We’ve even met each others families and friends and no one can disagree when we say it just feels ‘right’. It’s not even been scary really either because I just want to know everything about him and his life and the feeling is returned 110% by him too (probably even more so).
As part of my birthday present he got me a locked wooden box that I couldn’t open until our camping trip 2 weeks later (which as you can imagine wound me up greatly and had to resist the urge of throwing it out the window to open it). When I finally got to open it, it was for a private boat cruise, just me and him, for the day with a fancy Waitrose picnic we both picked out and a lovely bottle of Prosecco. My vocabulary is escaping me now, but there’s not really any other way of putting it apart from it was just so so lovely. That boat trip was just one incredible part of the whole camping trip. The weather was pretty pants to be honest, but that didn’t even matter. Just spending time with each other, away from everything else, was just bliss. As it was my first camping experience too, he literally bent over backwards to make it perfect for me (I did tell him to stop doing so much but he wouldn’t have any of it! So stubborn). He even went there with his Grandparents around midday to set the tent and everything up before I then went in the evening as he wanted me to get some sleep in after doing 4 night shifts. So sweet. Really not used to having someone care for me so so much, but I’m getting there..!
Anyway, enough of that.
I’m hoping to return the favour (although it’ll be hard topping that trip) by taking him to my second home of Weymouth next week. Apart from the 15th – a day he has booked for us already to go see a spitfire display down at Goodwood (literally, he does not stop, although I shouldn’t complain) – Weymouth is completely down to me and can’t wait to show him around the Dorset area.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Nays

Nothing really to say in terms of nays, apart from, I guess work in some respects. Not the work environment itself, I love where I am, but it’s just been this last month has felt really overwhelming and I still feel at times as though I should know what I’m doing by now and used to the way things are run, but there are still things cropping up that I’m not sure how to deal with – be it in terms of beds, staffing, traumas etc. Like I said in my previous post, this department is run quite differently from my last place, so maybe it is just going to take a while to get used to and it is a much busier department. I’m probably just worrying too much again and I’m actually doing fine, but definitely keep worrying about what my colleagues think of me behind my back (worrying seems to be a theme this month..!)
This is my first senior post after all and it will take time, I just don’t feel like I’m living up to what’s expected of me here, despite my best efforts and being here for a good 2 months now. I just feel like my brain capacity can’t cope with the amount of things I need to be thinking about at one time.
Here’s just hoping the more I get used to this, it’ll just all come more naturally! Oh, and stop worrying. Although that’s easier said than done..!

Till next time!
Gem x

2 thoughts on “Yays and Nays #10

  1. Pingback: Travel Round-Up 2015 | a million gingerisms

Leave a Reply

