Yays and Nays #12 

Yays

Trip to Croatia

I finally went to Croatia with one of my besties! Safe to say it was lovely actually getting to spend some decent time with her what with our conflicting shift patterns getting in the way. Yeah OK it may have been even better had we gone more in season, say September, but apart from not being able to go to Hvar island, we still did everything else we had set out to do and allowed us to take it more chilled as opposed to ramming as much in as possible. There’s always a positive to failed plans..!

Read all about what we got up to in Dubrovnik and Split.


  

Work
Not only am I feeling a lot more settled in my job now (finally!) I have also been put onto an APLS (advanced paediatric life support) course in January. I was feeling a bit bummed about not getting on A&E course this year, however this will tide me over for now.

Also in relation to work (I’m going to probably horrendously jinx this now as its only provisional), but not only have I been given Christmas Day off as requested, but I’m also down to finish nights 24th and not be back until 31st. Result..!

Blend Active
I bought a blender! (Is that sad to be excited about? Probably).
I’d been debating getting the Blend Active for a while now, but I’m glad I held off as I saw it reduced right down to £15 in Sainsburys! It was a no brainer at that point really.

So far I’ve only taken blended smoothies in for my night shifts when it’s usually too busy or late to have proper meal and does the job pretty well avoiding the snaking on rubbish. I’m pretty poor at getting all my fruit and veggies in (particularly on night mode!) so this has solved that problem (although do snack still, just not as much).
It’s so easy to use, easy to clean after and has so far blended everything I’ve put in it really well! Some fruits take a bit longer, same goes for putting ice in, but still gets there eventually! I particularly like how the bottle you blend it in is the bottle you take it away in! You literally unscrew it from the blender base, pop your drinking cap on top and you’e ready to go!

I’ve only tried fruit ones at the moment… I will slowly start introducing the veggies soon once I work out tastes and what go together well. Any suggestions, feel free to leave a comment or a link below!


Blogger Event
Last Friday I went to my 4th (yes, 4th!) blogging event this year which was the Haunted Pub tour hosted by Lantern Ghost Tours and arranged by Lauren of LDNmeetup. Expect to see a review of the tour soon, but I will say that it was awesome meeting more new bloggers and getting away with being a total tourist in your own city! Thanks again Lauren for organising such well organised and enjoyable events!



  

Sleep!
My sleep is finally improving! After having a frustrating sleep pattern for the last 2-3 years, where I get up every 3-4 hours in the night and pretty much always feel groggy for hours in the mornings, I actually had enough the other week and made a GP appointment to see what else he suggested I could do.

I had literally tried everything from lavender sprays, reading before bed, taking Sominex, stopping caffeine after 6pm, shutting off my phone/laptop at 9pm, taking baths and even tried listening mediation music through the night.
The only real cause the GP could think of, as I’m otherwise pretty good in terms of my diet/ exercise and lifestyle habits, was my shift patterns I do and just getting myself into that pattern over the years.
As a solution to try and stop this, he asked me to try taking Chlorphenamine (Piriton) before bed time. I know other colleagues of mine that take this for the same effect, but didn’t want to just start taking different meds without seeking other possible solutions with another healthcare professional.
So far, after taking it just over a week, I’m still getting up in the night, usually after 4-5 hours, but I definitely feel that I don’t fidget half as much as I did and generally feel more rested when I get up in the mornings. It’s still not perfect by any means… but give it time.


I’m not saying rush out and buy some of your having sleeping difficulties – you should always try other ways such as those listed above and always seek medical advice before taking anything regularly, even if you can buy it over the counter.

Nays

The only thing I can really say in terms of Nays is that my shifts have been a bit all over the place recently making it difficult to see friends, but it’s all part of the job and I am trying to make the most of my days off by seeing who I can in between.

Also with the shift patterns, I’m really missing doing Zumba. Poor rxcuse really, but a totally valid one! Really need to get back on that… or at least go back to YouTube workouts and/or Blogilates. Yes Gemma, sort it out.

Anyhoo

Till next time!
Gem x

2 thoughts on “Yays and Nays #12 

  1. Oh my wow that blender looks great!! How brilliant having the bottle right there.

    Congratulations on having so many yays! I hope your sleeping continues to improve, it’s so hard not feeling rested, I had a similar thing with all over the place shifts a few years ago. xx

Leave a Reply

