Yays and Nays #13

Struggled to think of whats actually gone on this month at first as it’s literally just flown past so quickly but there were definitely a fair few highlights (and lowlights)…

Yays

Seeing Jack Whitehall @ Top Secret Comedy Club

After debating whether to stand out in the rain like mugs on Guy Fawkes night watching fireworks for 20minutes at our local Rugby Club, I thankfully received an e-mail from Top Secret Comedy that afternoon stating that Jack Whitehall (along with 3 other comedians) would be doing a show in London that night. For ten pounds. Oh yes. So I booked me and J tickets there and then and trotted off to London and I have to say, itwas easily the best tenner I’ve ever spent. Such a great line up of comedians and didn’t stop laughing throughout. Even some of the smaller acts were just absolutely hilarious. Plus, for London the drinks are damn reasonable, always a bonus.

I will have to do a post about this venue as it is a little charmer, so cheap and is always a great night out whenever we go and whoever is performing.

View from the Shard

For my brothers birthday last November, I got him two tickets to ‘The View from The Shard’. My brother being my brother, texts me last month and goes something along the lines of ‘need to use the tickets up before thy expire’ and I was like ‘erm, yeah you do!’ so we finally managed to set a date and went on November 17th… possibly the most miserable day (weather wise) of the year..! It was freezing, it was windy, it was raining, it was misty and my hair and face was just… don’t even. Anyway, we gets up The Shard to the 69th floor and we look straight out, to see… grey cloud… and lots of it.

To make the most of the experience though we got some champagne and took our time working out London landmarks through really poor visibility and eventually the cloud did start to lift a little. At which point we then walked round again, to try and get better pictures.

We then went even further to the 72nd floor where it was open to the elements and it was a bit nippy and breezy to say the least! I didn’t realise there was an open air part and they’d covered the floor in fake snow and ice sculptures to make it feel more wintery which was pretty cool. Quite fitting seeing as the building is practically made of glass.

  

We followed this up with a good ol’ trip to Wagamamas where we completely stuffed our faces and then sat on the tube after feeling totes satisfied.
Winter Wonderland

Last Saturday J suggested that we went to Winter Wonderland to which (at first was a bit miffed about as kinda stepped on a surprise I was going to do, not the same but similar, which I still plan on going ahead with) but then really got excited at the idea as the last time I went it was a bit of a washout and ended up really muddy. He booked us to go ice skating, which once we actually managed to find in time, was a really enjoyable experience. I hadn’t really done outdoor public ice skating before and it couldn’t have felt more wintery and festive if it tried. Although being quite crowded, we managed to skate around with no injuries and listen to a lady playing soft acoustic songs. And then someone proposed in the centre, which is always heart melting to see and be a part of. So yeah, really enjoyed that. Had some Bratwurst, some hot apple cider… but much to J’s dismay (and he’ll kill me for bringing this up again now) no Churros unfortunately as it was around 10pm by this point and everywhere started packing up. Sorry J!

Christmas Shopping
As I write this, I have around 95% of my Christmas presents sorted. Been proper on it like a car bonnet this year. Always makes me feel a little relieved knowing I can actually start the best part which makes me feel the most festive… wrapping presents and writing cards (which I shall be doing after this as I can’t bare it all being lumped in a large IKEA bag).

New Arrival

Towards the end of this month it was finally time to say hello to a new arrival and the first one of my close friends (out of ‘the guys’) little baby Noah. I managed to pop round and see him today and he is just the cutest little bundle of joy ever. Just so snuggly, so chilled and so content with his little cheeky smile here and there. Even his crying is adorable. And its lovely to see K and M doing so well as first time parents, looking after one another with the support from their family and friends and generally looking so happy with the little bundle of joy they’ve finally got to meet. He’s totally a little bit ginger too!

 

Nays

Work

I feel like this is in my Nays a lot and I probably shouldn’t moan about it as much as I do, but work has been CHAOS these last 2-3 weeks. Definitely feeling the winter pressures now in A&E and last week we even hit and 5.5hour A&E wait at one point it was just THAT busy. Just absolute madness. It even got to a point where (I wasn’t going to mention this but feel in a way I should) I had to get Security brought into the department at one point due to parents getting angry and abusive about the waiting, to and in my face. It was like no matter how much myself and other members of staff try and explain the situation the department is in to them, they couldn’t see beyond themselves and their child. I completely understand as parents you have every right to be anxious about your child when they are unwell, but there are ways of going about it and swearing at staff who are already strecthed to their utmost, is not the way to go about it. Safe to say, everyone was OK in the end, the parents calmed down, their child was safe for discharge and chaos resumed as normal.

Another thing that wound me up about work this month was a course that I had been booked on in January has had to be cancelled and postponed till June. Not entirely sure why it’s been postponed and wasn’t particularly pleased in the way I found out either, but I will be bringing it up in my appraisal (gulp!) next month.

Cold

Not the weather, although things have turned quite bitter as of recent, but I’ve only just about managed to kick a cold I’ve had going on for the last 2 and a half weeks. Never thought I’d see the end of it. Just a tickly cough to get rid of now, but that’s always the bit that lingers on and on…

Blogging

I know I’ve been a bit slack at blogging recently, but sometimes life just takes over. I don’t ever want to see blogging as a chore, so only blog when I have the time and mindset to do so. I’m hoping to review my routine and organise my free time in the new year, so here’s hoping for some more posts in the next year to come!

Ending on a positive… I’m on annual leave and off to Iceland next week for 3 nights! I’ve never been before and always wanted to go and what a better time to go… should really really get me into the spirit of Christmas!

Right, I’m off to wrap some presents!

Till next time!

Gem x

One thought on “Yays and Nays #13

Leave a Reply

